Electric Consumers Protection Act

Donate / Volunteer

Electric Consumers Protection Act (ECPA) of 1986 –
Thousands of hydropower dams, operated by private developers, stockholder-owned utilities, or state or local governments, are regulated by a federal agency called the Federal Energy Regulatory Agency (FERC). FERC issues 30- to 50- year licenses that specify how the dams are operated, what minimum water flow levels are required, what forms of fish passage must be installed and, in some cases, how watershed lands are managed. The licenses for hundreds of dams will be up for renewal through 2010. The Electric Consumers Protection Act of 1986 (an amendment to the Federal Power Act of 1920) requires the Commission to give the same level of consideration to the environment, recreation, fish and wildlife, and other nonpower values that it gives to power and development objectives in making a licensing decision. It also requires FERC to base mitigation for adverse effects on the recommendations of federal and state fish and wildlife agencies and to negotiate with agencies if disagreements occur. Idaho Rivers United reports that the process of relicensing hydropower dams has “spawned creative ideas for river improvements, as well as negotiations among hydropower companies, natural resource agencies, non-governmental organizations, and individuals to implement these rehabilitation measures. Remarkable river enhancement has resulted”

Source: River Network

Share Button